Board of Directors

ABMRS Board of Directors is composed of the following members and representatives:


Heidi Edmonson, Ph.D., DABR, MRSO (MRSC™), MRSE (MRSC™)

General MR safety, special expertise in MRI of patients with implanted devices/MRI pulse sequences and artifacts, accreditation expert (ACR and TJC). Medical physicist, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN.


Robert Watson, MD, Ph.D., MRMD (MRSC™),

General MR safety, neuroradiologist. Chair, MRI Safety Committee. Chair, Division of Neuroradiology. Mayo Clinic, Rochester MN.

Secretary / Treasurer

William Faulkner, RT (R)(CT)(MR), MRSO (MRSC™)

MR Technologist, MR Education, and Operations Consultant. CEO, William Faulkner & Associates, LLC.

Max Amurao, Ph.D., MRSE (MRSC™),

Medical physicist. Director of Radiation Safety for Clinical Programs at Columbia University / New York-Presbyterian Hospitals.

Trevor Andrews, Ph.D., DABMP (MRI), MRSE (MRSCTM)

MRI physicist at Washington University in St Louis. Former Clinical Scientist and Development Lead at Philips Healthcare. R&D experience with pulse sequence design, relaxometry, RF pulse design, RF shimming.

 Geoff Charles-Edwards, Ph.D. General MR safety. Consultant Clinical Scientist and Head of MR Physics, Guy’s & St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, London, UK. Liaison to the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (IPEM).
 Jeffrey Frimeth, MSc, MRSO (MRSCTM), MRSE (MRSCTM)

Jerry Froelich, MD, FACR

Quality and Safety of MR environments. Professor of Radiology, Medical Physics, and Cardiology at the University of Minnesota, Director, Division of Thoraco-Abdominal Imaging.

Tobias Gilk, MArch, MRSO (MRSC™), MRSE (MRSC™)

Architect, special experience in MR safety and equipment siting / implementations. Sr. Vice President of RADIOLOGY-Planning and Founder of Gilk Radiology Consultants.

David Grainger

Senior Device Specialist at Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA), United Kingdom.

Todd Greenberg, MD MRMD (MRSCTM)
Kristan Harrington, MBA RT(R)(MR) MRSO (MRSCTM)
Scott Hipko, BS, RT (R)(MR)(CT), MRSO (MRSC™)
Mary Ellen Jafari, MS, DABR, MRSO (MRSC™), MRSE (MRSC™) Diagnostic Medical Physicist, Atlantic Health System, and Radiation Safety Officer, Chilton Medical Center, Pompton Plains, NJ. Expertise in general MR Safety, special expertise in implant safety, and ACR and TJC accreditation.
Jeff Jahn, RT(R)(MR)

David Jordan, Ph.D., DABR, DABMP, DABSNM, MRSE (MRSC™)

Senior Diagnostic Medical Physicist University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center

Emanuel Kanal, MD, MRMD, (MRSC™), MRSE (MRSC™)

General MR safety, radiologist/risk-benefit assessment, additional expertise in MR contrast agent safety. Director of MR Services at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

Cormac McGrath, Ph.D., MIPEM, MRSO (MRSC™), MRSE (MRSC™)

Consultant Clinical Scientist, Head of the Non-Ionising Radiation Group for the Northern Ireland Regional Medical Physics Service, Past Chair of the MR-SIG for the Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine (IPEM), UK.

John Nyenhuis, PhD

General MR safety, special expertise in gradient dB/dt safety issues. Professor at Purdue University.


System Director of Medical/Health Physics, Geisinger Health System

Sunder Rajan, PhD General MR safety, Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
John Reyna RT(R)(CT)(MR), MRSO (MRSCTM), MRSE (MRSCTM) General MR safety, Medical Device MR Safety Specialist. MRI Technologist-MRI Educator, Expertise in advanced MRI Acute care, education, and operations

Jeffrey Rogg, MD, MRMD (MRSC™) FACR

Associate Professor, Alpert Medical School of Brown University. Medical Director of MRI for Rhode Island and The Miriam Hospitals.

Kristin Seitz, BSMI, RT(R)(MR)(CT), MRSO (MRSC™) General MR safety, MRI/CT Technologist, Chair of MR Safety Council, Ohio Health, Columbus Ohio

William F. Sensakovic, PhD, DABR, MRSE (MRSC™)

Medical Physicist, Mayo Clinic, Scottsdale, AZ

Steven Sherry, MD, MRMD (MRSC™)

Daniel Smock, BHS RT(R)(CT)(MR), MRSO (MRSC™) MRI Supervisor, Technologist, MR Safety Officer, Radiology Education Advisor at Children’s Mercy, Kansas City, MO.

Wendy J. Stirnkorb, CRA, RT (R) (MR), MRSO (MRSC™)

General MR Safety, Imaging leadership, Leadership development. Special expertise in MR Operations, LEAN Six Sigma, and technologist engagement. Administrative Director of Cardiopulmonary and Imaging Services, Regional West Medical Center, Scottsbluff, Nebraska. President and CEO of Stirnkorb Consulting, LLC. Gering, Nebraska

Nancy Talbot, MAppSc, MRT (MR) (R) MRSO (MRSCTM) MRI Supervisor Princess Margaret Cancer Center, Co-Chair MRI Safety committee, Joint Department of Medical Imaging

Siegfried Trattnig, MD, MRMD (MRSC™)

Director of the MR Center of Excellence at the Medical University of Vienna, developer of Austrian MR safety standards; representative to the Intersocietal Committee/European Work Group on MR Safety.

Johan van den Brink, PhD MR safety expert, Convenor of the MR safety standard IEC 60601-2-33
James Webb Jr RT(R)(MR), MRSO (MRSC™) Imaging Clinical Specialist-MR Safety Officer Rhode Island and Hasbro Children’s Hospital Providence, RI

Terry Woods, PhD

General MR safety, Food, and Drug Administration (FDA).

Organizational Liaisons (Non-Voting)

Lori Ann Grubowski Burns, RT(R) American Healthcare Radiology Administrators (AHRA) Delegate

Ellen Lipman, M.S., R.T.(R)(MR), CAE

American Society of Radiologic Technology (ASRT) Delegate